San Francisco’s BEST sandwich

I have been meaning to try the Arguello Super Market Turkey Sandwich for a few years now. Better late then never, right?! In my humble opinion, this is the best sandwich in San Francisco!

The first thing one see upon entering the market is a rotisserie spinning two or three whole turkeys. The second thing seen is the line. Don’t let scare you off…the wait is well worth the prize. The sammy’s are made to order and you can choose the kind of bread too. The “world famous turkey sandwich” (as they claim) is served on Dutch Crunch. That is what I went with! I also heard the guy before me order half white meat/half dark. I didn’t know we had a choice! I did 100% dark meat with everything but pickles with Swiss. I got stiffed on the Swiss, which usually tweaks me, but this sandwich was so juicy and moist I got over that quickly. I established that since this was my first time I should do it as it was meant to be! However, next time I will demand Swiss and perhaps avocado and cranberries! (75 cents extra)

After 28 years in business, owner Sal Qaqundah nailed it. The brined turkey meat slowly cooking on a spit is devine, juicy and better than the one you had on Thanksgiving. The $5.99 price makes you wanna go slap the assholes at Subway!

This is a MUST do! Grab a sammy, some chips and a bottle of wine and hit Golden Gate Park, which is 100 yards away, and enjoy the day!

Arguello Super Market is on the corner of Arguello and Cabrillo in the city’s Inner Richmond neighborhood. It is close to University of San Francisco so be careful on weekdays around noon when school is in session!

782 Arguello Boulevard
San Francisco, CA 94118-4066
(415) 751-5121

~ by fogcityfoodie on October 26, 2011.

One Response to “San Francisco’s BEST sandwich”

  1. While you are at it, can you order me one with cranberries but no cheese? Yummy! Love Dutch Crunch bread… Great writing by the way. 🙂

Leave a Reply

 
