Smoking Loon 2009 Cabernet Sauvignon Review

I wanted to review this wine because it is at a price point that everyone can appreciate (under $6!!!). It is a long weekend and I had to stock up on a cold and rainy Saturday afternoon… the “bottom shelf” was where I was looking. It’s a scary place down there on the shelf that is below the knee. Nonetheless, I am a trooper and I did my duty to save all those out there that have to go below the knee in the wine section. Watching out for y’all!

The 2009 Smoking Loon is a nice wine. The first thing I noticed was it’s smoky bouquet.  I got hints of dark currents and leather in it. It’s bouquet got me excited to taste and I have to say I was pleasantly surprised. It is a rather light bodied cab that delivers a smooth unassuming juicy finish. For it’s price I say give it a go, hell pick up two! I’d do something a bit more complex for Christmas Dinner but I’d certainly pop the cork on a bottle whilst sitting on the couch watching college basketball on a rainy Saturday afternoon. Bottoms up!

~ by fogcityfoodie on February 20, 2011.

Leave a Reply

 
