Madrone Art Bar

I read this article today and want to check out the show/gallery…Larry Schorr photos at Madrone. I was thinking about the first time I went to this place and figured I’d write a review on it. There are not a whole lot of real bars on Divisadero South of Geary. When I say real bars I mean the kind of place you can belly up and get a shot of whiskey and a cold beer. Actually I found out the hard way that Madrone is “the” only real bar South of Geary on Divis. Sure there are wine bars and some froo froo dining establishments but no real bars. When you are thirsty for whiskey a Soju Mojito aint gonna cut it!

OK…We walked into this place and it was early on a Saturday night, let’s say 6ish and it was smack dab in the middle of happy hour. The place was empty (perfect) and the bartender was cool and poured “BIG”. Need I say more? $2 PBR’s from 4 to 8 daily. They also were crafting some homemade infused vodka(think all kinds of crazy fruit soaking up vodka in a big ole jar)….That was REALLY tasty grog! I did a shot or two…and got my Jamesons! I did notice that they had a fair share of art and some cozy couches to chill on. It’s a fairly big space but not a whole lot of seating…That’s fine with me, I can stand and drink! Madrone is on the corner of Divisadero and Fell in San Francisco.

Madrone Art Bar

~ by fogcityfoodie on July 9, 2010.

One Response to “Madrone Art Bar”

  1. There’s a few bars on Clement near the Green Apple bkstore that you may like. Also on Geary, a few Irish bars… I don’t usually go to bars, so don’t know the standard you are looking for as these things can be quite personal. Hope that helps. 🙂 By the way, I put you on my blogroll. Thanks for visiting earlier.

Leave a Reply

 
