Strawberries

The Drive by Truckers were in town on a Saturday night and I want to express my deepest gratitude to the band, their crew and their family for floating another unrealistic happening at the Fillmore last night. Having said that and not wanting to turn this into a concert review (fuckin’ mind-blowingly awesome) see Alabama Ass Whuppin for a sure to be upcoming critique. OK, that is the premise for why I am wandering around Ghetto Safeway at 10 am on a Sunday morning. I’ll blame it all on Rock and Roll.

You know that empty feeling you get when the circus leaves town, or you have to say good-bye to the gal that you are really into cause you have time to serve, or the feeling you get when you have just seen the best rock show in a long time and there is nothing else to look forward to until they come around again? Let’s call it blue. I was feeling blue and needed something to brighten my spirits. I still had a few PBR’s left in the fridge so I was good on the booze front. I needed something…anything to counter the Blues…..maybe something red? Yup. I needed something bright red and delicious to perk my spirits. Seriously…strawberries usually don’t do it, but today they’re just what the doctor ordered. Salinas Strawberries 4 lbs for $3. What a deal! Ghetto Safeway to the rescue. I have been doing my best to put a dent in the palette. A tall order to say the least! I am thinking that I have been in Northern California a while when all I need is a bucket of strawberries to give me a pick-me-up?! Hey, It worked so I can’t complain!

Fresh Salinas Strawberries

~ by fogcityfoodie on May 11, 2010.

3 Responses to “Strawberries”

  1. My home town

  2. Red always works with the Blues.

Leave a Reply

 
