Chardonnay-Pineapple Glazed Ham

Happy Easter! Let me start off by saying I had no intention of doing a ham today. I was actually leaning toward doing a turkey, then I decided on King Lee’s Chinese food. Neither of which came to fruition. The ham notion just kind of landed in my lap, which most good things do, ya? So, I am wandering through the Ghetto Safeway on a Saturday afternoon. The worst day ever to go grocery shopping. That is a rant I will keep to myself, ok, maybe not…a word of advice to the Brilliant Minds at Safeway. Saturday afternoon is probably the busiest day to do one’s food shopping. Have the shelves stocked on a holiday weekend. Between your employees stocking the shelves, their palettes of inventory and the disheveled lady and her thirty seven unruly children. It’s a zoo. Y’all should know that. Enough said!  OK! I’m cruising the Safeway and I wanted to get some of that really good Sara Lee honey baked ham luncheon meat. Good shit! It’s $9.99 per pound. I stop and think…let’s run by the meat department and see the hams. Super Safeway sale! Ka-Blamoo! I scored a 12 pound ham for $11.37. SCORE! Yes sir! I am expecting the Mensa card any day now!

Every ham I have had any part of, in the last 20 years, has been a Honey-Baked. Already cooked and ready to boogie! They’re fantastic, no doubt, but pricey. So I was leery on a 12 pound bone-in ham for $11.37. There must be something wrong, right? Hell no! The ham was delicious and just as good as any ham I have ever had. Even better because now I can share the cooking process with you! The glaze I fashioned was a bit of a “throw together” deal. Nevertheless, it rocked! Here’s the recipe! Be on the look out for more ham recipes to follow as now I have 11.5 lbs of ham as leftovers and there are just so many ham sammies one guy can eat!

Ham with a Pineapple-Chardonnay Glaze

you’ll need a bone-in ham (this is a very important ingredient in this recipe), any size and not one of those hams in a can….by the way, what’s up with ham in a can?(insert pressed ham joke here)

preheat your oven to 325 degrees.

put the ham face side down on the pan/cooking vessel that you are using. Yes, you’ll need a pan/tin/bucket, this is not a Totino’s pizza that you can just throw on the rack in the oven.

cover the entire ham in foil and throw it in your pre-heated oven.

Here’s the math (I know…we all hate math) cook your ham for 25 minutes per pound. My 12 pound ham took 5 hours. I actually had to crack out the calculator to double check! Mensa card? x25=y, y/60= your cooking time.

Have some wine

Pineapple Chardonnay Glaze

1/2 pound brown sugar (half a box)

1/4 of a fresh pineapple (sliced/cubed/mashed…whatever you want)

Juice from one large navel orange (pulp and all, no seeds)

two Tablespoons Dijon mustard

half cup of Chardonnay (or whatever it is you’re drinking)

sauce pan

Throw everything in a sauce pan and cook on a low heat for a while…kick it up to a simmer for a minute or two, be careful not to burn it, that sugar can be sensitive and we don’t want caramel! Turn the heat to low after it reaches the bubbly stage. To be honest, I am not sure why I kicked it up to get all bubbly…seemed like the thing to do! Nevertheless, I didn’t scorch it so I would say it worked out quite well. That’s it. it’s ready! Easy, huh?

When you have 30 minutes of baking time left, remove the ham from the oven, take off the foil and glaze it up! Throw it back in the oven(no foil) and repeat the glazing a few more times. You want the glaze to bake on and get all pretty(think candy coat on your 1988 Camaro)! That’s it. After you’re done glazing and the ham has cooked all the way through (160 internal temp) take it out, let her rest for 20 minutes and then carve it up. Enjoy!

Why don’t we eat rabbit on Easter?

Look at the glossy shine!

~ by fogcityfoodie on April 4, 2010.

2 Responses to “Chardonnay-Pineapple Glazed Ham”

  1. Rue Saint Jacques served rabbit today as well as lamb. yum. Try scalloped potatoes and ham for your leftovers. Layer ham, sliced potatoes, sliced onions and cheese sauce in a casserole dish. Cook at 350 for about an hour and oh boy!

  2. Cool sounds yummy i going to try it now :).

Leave a Reply

 
