Sliders

freaks at bus stop included at NO extra charge

I have been lucky to lead a very interesting life, culinarily speaking. I have done and experienced some crazily wonderful and harrowing things. The undercooked and bleeding chicken in Cairo. The incredible schnitzel in the Black Forest of Switzerland (picked from a menu that we could not read, think Denny’s menu). The delicious shwarmas on the streets of Al Khobar and the life saving properties of some North Shore Poi to name a few. But today I experienced the delight of enjoying a cheeseburger 15 minutes after getting two cavities filled. Yes, risk eating my own face to experience and enjoy a Sliders #1 Lunch Special. (Disclaimer, this is not a feat for the timid. Do not try this at home, or anywhere else)
Sliders is a neat little hamburger spot on the corner of Sutter and Polk. It is unique for a couple of reasons. The burgers are cooked to order and grilled right there in front of you and they have a topping’s bar. I have always loved topping’s bars(and all other kind of bars for that matter). I first ran into them as a kid at Fuddrucker’s which, in my opinion, still has the baddest topping’s bar around. Molten hot nacho cheese. Yes, N-A-C-H-O cheese. But I digress, Sliders has a nice little accommodating topping’s bar.
Today I did the $8.25 #1 Lunch Special ($9.03 after tax). It’s a 6 oz. Grilled Cheeseburger, fries and a drink. Perfect, ya?! YES! The burger is grilled to order and the Homey cooking it nailed a perfect medium rare. My frommage du jour was American and it was melted nicely over the 1/3 pounder. The fries were crispy and hot and the coke was ice cold. I went a little crazy at the toppings bar. The Dentist used a Pina Colada flavored gel to numb up the gums before the novacaine shot. So, I had this industrial pineapple taste in my mouth. I decided to get a little adventurous and add pineapple and jalapeno to my tasty cheeseburger. A wise choice, Grasshopper! It was incredible! Sweet and spicy (insert inappropriate joke/comment here). The bun had been grilled and had a lovely crunch yet maintained it’s soft doughy characteristics. Freaking great lunch! No frills to the place, clean and quaint, order, eat, go. Simple!
I only had to stop twice to make sure I wasn’t gnawing the inside of my face. Unscathed! Seriously…I’ve been eating my whole life. I am an expert at this!

~ by fogcityfoodie on March 24, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
