Boom Boom! Syrah 2007

This was a total impulse buy. I thought the bottle looked cool so I decided to take a chance on it. It was heavily marked up as I doubt it was a $16.99 bottle any where else but at a SF deli/corner store…but what the hell!? This is a Washington State, Columbia Valley, 2007 Syrah. Charles Smith Wines in Mattawa, WA puts it out. I have to save it was incredibly smooth with very juicy. It was a little taniny (is that a word? is now!) and an over all good bottle of wine. Not sure if I’d do $16.99 for it but definitely do $9.99.

~ by fogcityfoodie on March 8, 2010.

One Response to “Boom Boom! Syrah 2007”

  1. Syrah and/or Shiraz is one of my fave wines. I actually don’t drink a lot despite the fact that I write about it quite a bit as of late. But I really prefer the taste of this red and very decent pricing. I was able to pay $5 in Whole Foods for a bottle, so that’s a great value. If you haven’t already, recent Food & Wine mag, page 168, “Why You Should Drink Syrah on Thanksgiving” Link: http://www.foodandwine.com/articles/thanksgiving-wines-syrah

Leave a Reply

 
